Wrong home demolished in Texas

r-WRONG-HOUSE-DEMOLISHED-large570

TEXAS – David Underwood had a hard time finding his home at the weekend.

He and his wife looked high and low for the property that has been in his family for years, thinking that it had vanished into mid air. It turns out in a cruel twist of fate that the wrong house had been levelled by demolition experts and it just so happened to be Mr. Underwood’s house.

“We came around Silver Creek looking for the lot and my wife said, ‘David, I think the house is gone,'” Underwood told the station. “We looked up there and sure enough, it’s gone!”

The property, a three bedroom ranch style home which sat on a lake, had belonged to David’s grandmother. It was almost empty but it was not condemned, unlike the house next door which was the one that was set to be demolished at the time. Instead the demolition crew flattened David’s home which was valued at $82,000 and which he planned on fixing up and moving in to.

All that remains now is the cement foundation.

KDFW reported that Underwood’s neighbor tried to alert city officials when demolition crews showed up at the wrong doorstep on Friday. Apparently, the warning didn’t work.

This is not the first time something like this has happened either, in 2011 a man from Pittsburgh returned from holiday to find his house had been levelled while he was away.

What do you guys think? What would you do if you returned to find that your home had been mistakenly demolished? Let us know in the comment section below.

– Mark
@_MarkDalton
@ATDDublin

Comments

  1. Remarkable issues here. I am very glad to look your post. Thanks so much and I’m taking a look forward to touch you. Will you please drop me a mail?

  2. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to mention that I have truly loved browsing your weblog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I am hoping you write again very soon!

  3. I think the demolition company better have some good insurance to pay for the wrong house being demolished.

  4. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my website so i got here to go back the want?.I am attempting to find things to enhance my web site!I assume its good enough to use a few of your ideas!!

  5. I used to be recommended this blog via my cousin. I’m not certain whether or not this publish is written by way of him as nobody else know such exact approximately my problem. You are wonderful! Thanks!

Tell Us What You Think!

